The Journal of Pain

The Journal of Pain

Official Journal of the American Pain Society





Editor-in-Chief::Mark P. Jensen, PhD





Go to Journal Website

Personal Print Journal

1 year USD 509.00
2 year USD 916.20 (10% Discount)
3 year USD 1,297.95 (15% Discount)

Subscription Details

Estimated Delivery Time

In Stock

USD 509.00


Subscription Details

ScienceDirect Subscription

  • Access for 5 users
  • Access to 4 years of archives

USD 877.60

Print Journal

1 year USD 876.00
2 year USD 1,752.00
3 year USD 2,628.00

Subscription Details

Estimated Delivery Time

In Stock

USD 876.00
Buying for Institutions
Terms & Conditions

Additional Subscription Help


Aims & Scope

The Journal of Pain publishes original articles related to all aspects of pain, including clinical and basic research, patient care, education, and health policy. Articles selected for publication in the Journal are most commonly reports of original clinical research or reports of original basic research. In addition, invited critical reviews, including meta analyses of drugs for pain management, invited commentaries on reviews, and exceptional case studies are published in the Journal. The mission of the Journal is to improve the care of patients in pain by providing a forum for clinical researchers, basic scientists, clinicians, and other health professionals to publish original research.

The Journal of Pain has an Impact factor of 4.010 in the 2014 Journal Citation Reports®, published by Thomson Reuters.

Benefits to authors
We also provide many author benefits, such as free PDFs, a liberal copyright policy, special discounts on Elsevier publications and much more. Please click here for more information on our author services.

Please see our Guide for Authors for information on article submission. If you require any further information or help, please visit our support pages: click here


Abstracting and Indexing

MEDLINE®, Scopus
Editor-in-Chief: Mark P. Jensen, PhD Seattle, WA, Founding Editor G. F. Gebhart, PhD Pittsburgh, PA, Editorial Board: Kathryn Albers Pittsburgh, PA, Karen O. Anderson Houston, TX, Lars Arendt-Nielsen Aalborg, Denmark, Misha-Miroslav Backonja Madison, WI, Jane C. Ballantyne Seattle, WA, Klaus Bielefeldt Pittsburgh, PA, Jeffrey J. Borckardt Charleston, SC, George S. Borszcz Detroit, MI, Timothy Brennan Iowa City, IA, Annmarie Cano Detroit, MI, Susan Carlton Galveston, TX, C. Richard Chapman Salt Lake City, UT, Roger Chou Portland, OR, Charles Cleeland Houston, TX, Geert Crombez Brugge, Belgium, Patrick M. Dougherty Houston, TX, Ronald Dubner Baltimore, MD, Robert Dworkin Rochester, NY, Robert R. Edwards Boston, MA, James Eisenach Winston-Salem, NC, Roger B. Fillingim Gainesville, FL, Lucia Gagliese Toronto, Ontario, Canada, Michael E. Geisser Ann Arbor, MI, Michael Gold Pittsburgh, PA, Debra B. Gordon Seattle, WA, Richard Gracely Ann Arbor, MI, Carmen R. Green Ann Arbor, MI,, Donna Hammond Iowa City, IA, Adam T. Hirsh Indianapolis, IN, Prisca Honore Abbott Park, IL, Robert Jamison Boston, MA, Troels S. Jensen Aarhus, Denmark, Francis Keefe Durham, NC, Martin Koltzenburg London, UK, Kristine Kwekkeboom Madison, WI, John C. Lefebvre Spartanburg, SC, Jon D. Levine San Francisco, CA, Henrietta Logan Gainesville, FL, Jianren Mao Boston, MA, John Markman Rochester, NY, Lance McCracken Bath, United Kingdom, Patricia A. McGrath Toronto, Ontario, Canada, Christine Miaskowski San Francisco, CA, Michael Morgan Vancouver, WA, Stephen Morley Leeds, UK, Timothy Ness Birmingham, AL, Warren R. Nielson London, Ontario, Canada, Koichi Noguchi Nishinomiya, Japan, Akiko Okifuji Salt Lake City, UT, Judith Paice Chicago, IL, Tonya M. Palermo Seattle, WA, Karin Petersen San Francisco, CA, Frank Porreca Tucson, AZ, Russell Portenoy New York, NY, Rajan Radhakrishnan Salt Lake City, Utah, Ke Ren Baltimore, MD, Daniel Riddle Richmond, VA, Jin Ro Baltimore, MD, Michael E. Robinson Gainesville, FL, Jürgen Sandkühler Vienna, Austria, Michael E. Schatman Boston, MA, Neil Schechter Hartford, CT, Martin Schmelz Mannheim, Germany, Marta Segerdahl Stockholm, Sweden, Kathleen A. Sluka Iowa City, IA, Gary Strichartz Boston, MA, Raymond C. Tait St. Louis, MO, Beverly E. Thorn Tuscaloosa, AL, Masaya Tohyama Osaka, Japan, Richard Traub Baltimore, MD, Todd Vanderah Tucson, AZ, Michael Vasko Indianapolis, IN, Dieuwke S. Veldhuijzen Utrecht, Netherlands, Gary Walco Seattle, WA, Linda Watkins Boulder, CO, David A. Williams Ann Arbor, MI, Clifford Woolf Boston, MA, Robert P. Yezierski Gainesville, FL, James Zacny Chicago, IL, Lonnie Zeltzer Los Angeles, CA
Shop with Confidence

Free Shipping around the world
▪ Broad range of products
▪ 30 days return policy

Contact Us

Author Services

Prepare your Article for submission
Translation Services
English Language Editing

Celebrate your publication success
Article Offprints, Journal Issues, Article/Cover Posters, Create Your Own Book

Additional Services
Mobile Apps,Special Content Offerings,and more...